The Treasures Of Mexico – Burn The Jets LP/CD


Artist – The Treasures Of Mexico

Release – Burn The Jets

Label – Spinout Nuggets

Cat No. – SN099

Release date – 31st August 2023

SKU: SN099 Category:


Artist – The Treasures Of Mexico

Release – Burn The Jets LP/CD

Side A
1. Beaming (4:34)
2. Days With A “Y” In (2:41)
3. Halo (4:28)
4. I’ve Got Everything That You Need (1:39)
5. Monday Morning (4:03)
Side B
1. Moon Landing (4:11)
2. Fate Was Out To Get Me (3:28)
3. Servant To The Seasons (3:44)
4. Sign Of Weakness (3:47)
5. Running (5:51)

Label – Spinout Nuggets

Cat No. – SN099

Release date – 31st August 2023

The Treasures Of Mexico are a collection of long-time Medway musicians, including Mark Matthews and Bob Collins, both ex-members of UK Indie legends The Dentists (and many more since), with Russ Baxter on drums previously The Discords, The Men With The Golden Gonads and Phaze and currently the same for Secret Affair, and Nick Rice on bass, the same for Groovy Uncle and The Dutch Embassy too. Additional vocals are provided by Jetstream Pony’s Beth Arzy.

Since the demise of The Dentists in the late 90’s, Mark and Bob, key contributors and founder members, have been busy through a number of side projects and contributions to worthy musical causes, both together and separately, and most recently contributing with The Treasures Of Mexico.

With Mark on song-writing duties, in 2018 they released their second album ‘Everything Sparks Joy’ on Shelflife Records to much acclaim, hitting many Best Album Charts at the end of that year. The following year, ‘The Last Thing’, an album track, was released as a single on Spinout Nuggets, with two previously unreleased tracks, and a follow-up single, ‘Heart Shaped Clock/Stick With You’, was released in 2020, with ‘Always The Shadows/Autumn Sweater’ rolling out in 2021.

Since then, Mark has been busy scribbling, and devised a number of hits, ten of which are now gathered onto the third album from The Treasures Of Mexico, titled ‘Burn The Jets’.

With the long musical journey to this day (including The Dentists, Coax, Fortress Madonna, Words Beginning With X, The Great Lines, Echo Heights), it’s not about the journey itself, it’s about what comes through those speakers, and into your lives, no matter how it got there.

The ninety-ninth release on Spinout Nuggets, this will be available via the label, the group and all good record outlets whilst stocks last.

Limited to 500 vinyl copies.

Line Up:
Mark James Matthews – Vocals/Guitar/Keys.
Robert Collins – Guitar/Keys/Vocals.
Nick Rice – Bass Guitar.
Russell Baxter – Drums.
Beth Arzy – Vocals

Recorded and mixed by Jim Riley at Ranscombe Studios, Rochester, Kent.
Overdubs and post-production by Graham Semark at Cyclone Music.
Published by Spinout Music.

Additional information

Format Options

CD only, Vinyl LP and CD, Vinyl LP only

You may also like…