The Spellbinder Project – Spell Check, Vol. 2 12″ EP (pre-order)


Artist – The Spellbinder Project

Release – Spell Check, Vol. 2 EP

Label – Spinout Nuggets

Cat No. – SN123

Release date – 31st May 2024

In stock

SKU: SN123 Category:


Artist – The Spellbinder Project

Release – Spell Check, Vol. 2

Side A
1. Stamford Hill (2:02)
2. Who’s Next (5:45)

Side B
1. Soul Shot (5:46)
2. Cheio De Bossa (3:08)

Label – Spinout Nuggets

Cat No. – SN123

Release date – 31st May 2024

The Spellbinder Project provide a heady brew of genres from Post-Punk to Psych, Jazz and beyond.

The band was formed in 2010 by Sean Pereira Summers and Lascelles Gordon. Michael Levison joined four years later, along with other contributors too.

Having released their debut EP, ‘Spellcheck’ in 2017, on their very own Big Shanty Records, two of the tracks were played by the very much missed Andrew Weatherall on his ‘Music’s Not For Everyone’ NTS radio show episodes. Being a huge musical influence, the band were honoured to have been included.

Sean and Michael remain the backbone of The Spellbinder Project, with various assistance with an ever revolving door.

The Spellbinder Project return here with another four track instrumental vinyl scorcher.

The spiky opener, ‘Stamford Hill’ exemplifies the constructive mix of Post-Punk to Psych, Jazz and beyond, and even further. Whereas ‘Cheio De Bossa’ blends dubbed-out Latin and Psych.

Recently recording with Heliocecentric’s main instigator, Malcom Catto at his Quatermass Sound Lab studio, The Spellbinder Project have yielded two cuts which find also themself on this record; the tripped-out Psych Funk of ‘Whose Next’ and the Dub-Punk groover ‘Soul Shot’. Both feature horns by Terry Edwards whose exemplary CV includes The Higsons, Gallon Drunk and The Near Jazz Experience.

With an ever evolving sound, and contributors, The Spellbinder Project continue to spell it out!

Limited to 500 copies, this will be available via the label, the group and all very good record outlets.

Line Up:
Sean Pereira Summers – Guitar.
Michael Levison – Bass Guitar.
Lascelles Gordon – Drum.
Illias Speis – Bass Guitar.
Michael Rathbone – Drums, Percussion.
Terry Edwards – Trumpet, Saxophone.
Jon Campion – Clarinet.
Patrick Dawes – Percussion.

Recorded at Bark Studios (Walthamstow), Quatermass Sound Lab (Islington) and Buzz Studios (Bermondsey).
Produced by Brian O’Shaunghessey, Malcolm Catto and Mike Burnham.
Mastered by Graham Semark at Cyclone Music, Rochester, Kent.
Published by Spinout Music.



Additional information

Format Options

CD only, Vinyl LP and CD, Vinyl LP only

You may also like…